
600 MORTON STREET    RICHMOND, TEXAS 77469    (281) 342-0578 

AFFIDAVIT AND REQUEST TO TAKE DRIVING SAFETY COURSE PURSUANT TO 

543.103, TEXAS TRANSPORTATION CODE 

I, having been duly sworn, upon oath state: 

THAT, I have a valid Texas driver’s license or permit; THAT my driving record, as maintained by the Texas 

Departmentof Public Safety, does not indicate successful completion of a driving safety course within one year 

immediately preceding the date of the offense alleged in this cause; THAT I will provide, along with this 

affidavit, proof of financial responsibility (commonly in the form of insurance) as required by Chapter 601, Texas 

Transportation Code; AND THAT I am not in the process of taking a driver’s safety course under 543.103, Texas 

Transportation Code, nor have I completed such a course that does not appear on my driving record. 

BASED ON THE FOREGOING, I hereby waive trial by jury and enter a plea of NOLO CONTENDERE and request the 

court to defer proceedings and allow me ninety (90) days to complete a driving safety course approved under 

the Texas Driver and Traffic Safety Education Act. I agree to submit proof of completion of the driving safety 

course and a certified copy of my driving record from the Texas Department of Public Safety by my Show Cause 

Hearing. 

I UNDERSTAND THAT ANY PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY IS SUBJECT TO VERIFICATION BY THE COURT, 

THAT MY ELIGIBILITY FOR DISMISSAL MAY BE VOIDED IF SUCH PROOF IS FOUND TO BE INVALID, IF ANY 

INFORMATION IS INCORRECT, OR IF PROOF OF COMPLETION OF A DRIVER’S SAFETY COURSE AND CERTIFIED 

COPY OF MY DRIVING RECORD ARE NOT PROVIDED WITHIN THE APPLICABLE TIME. I FURTHER 

UNDERSTAND THAT I MUST SUBMIT ALL APPLICABLE FEES AND FINES WITH THIS AFFIDAVIT AND THAT 
SUCH PAYMENTS ARE NON-REFUNDABLE. (COURT COST OF $144.00; $169.00 FOR SCHOOL 

ZONE VIOLATIONS) 

To request permission to take a driving safety course by mail, the following must be postmarked by 

your court date: 
1. Signed and notarized affidavit
2. Copy of driver’s license
3. Copy of insurance card (must have your name as a licensed driver)

4. Court costs of $144.00 or $169.00 for school zone violations. (Money Order made payable to City of 
Richmond)

Permission to take course will be mailed with a receipt for your court costs. 

___________________________________ 
Defendant signature 

SWORN AND SUBSCRIBED before me, the undersigned authority on this the ________ day of 

____________, ________. 

__________________________________ 
Notary Public in and for the State of Texas 




